Conception and execution of a sustainability report for a reputed midmarket company

Companies have always had an important responsibility for social development. Never before, however, have customers, partner companies, employees and the public focused so much of their attention on the environmental and social impact of companies’ business activities as today. The small and mid-scale companies that are part of our clientele also regularly take stock of the sustainability of their corporate management. Instead of hiring an agency, a listed client commissioned hahn+friends communication with the conception and execution of a sustainability report.

When selecting a suitable interim manager for the project, the management attached importance to finding a candidate with a journalistic background, extensive knowledge of the industry as well as tried-and-proven know-how in the editing, collating and presentation of information on sustainability and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). hahn+friends communication provided an interim manager who fit the bill: an experienced publishing editor who had already gained extensive experience in CSR communication as the press spokesman for a listed company working in the field of renewable energies.

The interim manager drew on the existing sustainability mission statement of the company to create a structure for the report that allowed the company’s various sustainability achievements to be presented in a clear and differentiated manner. The individual chapters of the report were then drafted in consultation with the company’s sustainability officer. The overall report that was published after completion of the work offered a detailed, comprehensive and candid synopsis of the company’s status and standing in terms of sustainability at present.

Karina Vilenskaja

Communication Management

Konzeption und Realisation eines Nachhaltigkeitsberichts für namhaftes mittelständisches Unternehmen

9. Juli 2015

Unternehmen kommt schon immer eine wichtige Verantwortung für die gesellschaftliche Entwicklung zu. Niemals zuvor haben Kunden, Partnerunternehmen, Mitarbeiter und die Öffentlichkeit jedoch so stark darauf geachtet, welche Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt und die Gesellschaft das wirtschaftliche Handeln von Unternehmen hat. Auch die zu unseren Kunden zählenden Mittelständler legen regelmäßig Bilanz über ihre nachhaltige Unternehmensführung ab. Statt einer Agentur beauftragte ein börsennotierter Kunde jetzt hahn+friends communication mit der Konzeption und Realisation eines Nachhaltigkeitsberichts.

Bei der Auswahl eines geeigneten Interim Managers für das Projekt war den Entscheidern wichtig, einen Kandidaten mit journalistischem Hintergrund, weitreichenden Branchenkenntnissen sowie ausgeprägtem Know-how in der redaktionellen Aufbereitung von Sachverhalten aus den Themenkomplexen Nachhaltigkeit und Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) zu finden. Mit einem routinierten Redakteur, der als Pressesprecher eines börsennotierten Konzerns aus dem Bereich der Erneuerbaren Energien bereits reichhaltige Erfahrungen in der CSR-Kommunikation sammeln konnte, stellte hahn+friends communication einen geeigneten Interim Manager.

Angelehnt an das bereits bestehende Nachhaltigkeitsleitbild des Unternehmens erstellte der Interim Manager eine Gliederung für den Bericht, um die einzelnen Nachhaltigkeitsleistungen klar und differenziert darstellen zu können. Anschließend erfolgte die Ausformulierung der einzelnen Kapitel in Rücksprache mit dem Nachhaltigkeitsbeauftragten des Unternehmens. Der schließlich veröffentlichte Gesamtbericht ermöglicht einen detaillierten und ehrlichen Überblick darüber, wo das Unternehmen in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit aktuell steht.